is olive oil vegan? The answer is yes!

Is olive oil vegan?

Extra virgin olive oil can be an excellent source of healthy fats, which offer many benefits for the body. They are also important for vitamin absorption, among many other health benefits. But what is the recommended daily allowance of fat? Monounsaturated fats are best for the body and should comprise a quarter of our total calorie intake. In light of this, many people who have opted for a vegan or vegetarian diet tend to ask: is olive oil vegan?

The answer is yes, and in fact, extra virgin olive oil should be consumed on a regular basis as part of every diet. The process for producing oil—which in our case is done using traditional methods to ensure its excellent quality and characteristic flavor—does not involve animals, so it is perfectly suitable for vegans and vegetarians. This answers the questions of is olive oil vegan and if vegans can have olive oil. Affirmative! Vegans may enjoy its characteristic flavor and many benefits.


What can olive oil offer for vegan diets?

Since it is a healthy source of lipids, olive oil provides the energy you need for your everyday life. In answer to the question of is extra virgin olive oil vegan or how can you have olive oil in a vegan diet, the fact is that olive oil is particularly advisable for these types of diets. Other foods contain “fats” and are vegan-friendly, such as saturated and hydrogenated fats. These fats may be found in certain cookies, chocolate spreads, processed baked goods and even specific vegan products, such as spreads and margarine. However, these fats are not recommended for daily consumption since they are denser and can obstruct the body, resulting in heart ailments or becoming a risk factor of diabetes.

On the other hand, monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fats are more beneficial for regular consumption due to their light nature, and they are also better for cooking since they have a higher smoke point. The more refined the oil, the higher the smoke point. So in answer to the question we posed at the beginning of this post: “is olive oil vegan?” we can conclude that the answer is yes and that this ingredient is also one of the best health allies for vegans and vegetarians.


How to include olive oil in vegan recipes? 

There are many ways to include Italica extra virgin olive oil in a vegan diet, especially if it is made using traditional methods. Here are some examples of dishes you can add to your vegan diet: 

  •   Legumes (such as chickpeas, lentils, beans, etc.), casseroles, stews, salads and
    creamy soups. You can even use lentils to make vegan burgers!
  •   Homemade desserts: all types of 100% vegan cakes, pastries and pies.
  •   Rice dishes: tabbouleh, rice salad and vegan risotto.
  •   Roasted vegetables: potatoes, eggplant, artichokes, etc.
  •   Vegan lasagna.
  •   Soups and creams.
  •   Pizza, pasta and even vegan croquettes.


Olive oil, a must-have for vegans

How much EVOO can a vegan consume?

Fats should represent 25% of our daily calorie intake. Ideally, those fats should be healthy and offer benefits for our body. If we have chosen to follow a vegan or vegetarian diet, then extra virgin olive oil is not only advisable, but it is also vegan and an essential food for obtaining the energy we need to face the day. We can drizzle it on toast for breakfast or use it as dressing or to cook with since it does not oxidize as easily as other ingredients.  Olive oil can be eaten as part of a vegan diet and we encourage you to do so regularly because, aside from being good for you, its characteristic flavor is a unique experience, even when eaten simply with a piece of bread. Nothing else is more natural, beneficial and compatible with a vegan lifestyle. 


Subscribe to
our newsletter

Get Italica updates, promotions, recipes and more directly to your inbox